How I get back to coding

As they say, you need a break to realize that you actually love doing that particular thing, and maybe that’s what happened with me and coding. I have tried to gather my experience into words, and I would love to share my experience here.

Hello, This is Ishwar, a passionate tech guy who is keen on learning about the latest technologies and updates. This is my first step in sharing my experience with you and many more to come hopefully.

I am grateful that Masai gave me the platform to get back to my coding and enhance my skills. I got this opportunity during the build week to build an Android project.

I was pretty excited that the app we are going to clone is a dating app and anxious as well about who might be my teammates. So many thoughts were popping up. But yes I got the Bumble app and two virtual teammates or buddies, Soubia and Dheeraj.

We were panicked at the beginning about how can we clone this big app in just 3 days but once we started doing it, I realized it is possible with this team’s efforts, with everyone having the motive to win the appreciation. So we started with gathering the content together. We made a Google Word file Dheeraj used to manage all the documentation and all the stuff of assigning the task.

I got bored with making layouts easily. I used to love coding most of the time, but this time I also enjoyed making layouts with these people. We completed all the layout in 2 days but one of the difficult tasks I chose was to make that Swipe activity and it almost took me 5–6 hours to complete that layout.

I did most of the backend part of our app intents, the flow of data between the activities, and all of that.

After that, we three of us started to connect all the activities in between and we realized that we got a premium zoom meeting for free, this is how our 2021 started. We were struggling for some code and I got frustrated sometimes but my teammate Soubia handled it very well. I also code for swipe view but there is a mess where activities are clashing and it is not opening, making crash and redirecting to some other profile. So the three of us worked on that stuff together where our code is getting wrong but we didn’t find it till 3’o’clock. But somehow we figured it out. But when we saw the final outcome of the app it all felt worth it.

There was an error that I was not able to figure out so at that time Soubia helped on that error and we worked on it for hours, the profile activity not getting connected with the chat activity. There is one more silly error that we made in Facebook activity me and Dheeraj almost took an hour to make that error work.

In between Soubia got the right swipes so there we knew, we have one more activity to add, so after making that we completed the app and we were so happy with our outcome.

Here I get to know how the team works, how to keep cool even under pressure conditions, how to keep myself and my teammates motivated throughout the ups and downs.